Back at the clinic

5 10 2009

I was back at the clinic this morning for a TVUS and blood test. I probably shouldn’t have done this but I used the “Voice Memos” function on my iPhone to record everthing the doc was saying during the TVUS. I was there by myself today and didn’t want to forget anything! So I switched it on and left it in my handbag on the seat beside the bed. And to be honest…I’m going to use it again on Friday at my next appt! :o)

The doc says my lining is measuring 5mm and I’m sure it was 2 or 2.5mm at the last TVUS on the 1st.

Then she started counting the number of follicles and their sizes, they are:

Right Hand Side

  • 8.7mm
  • 8.5mm
  • 8.0mm
  • 7.8mm
  • 7.3mm
  • 6.3mm
  • and 3 smaller ones = 9 follicles

Left Hand Side

  • 10.5mm
  • 9.7mm
  • 9.1mm
  • 9.0mm
  • 8.5mm
  • 8.3mm
  • 8.0mm
  • 7.0mm
  • 6.5mm
  • 6.0mm
  • and 2 smaller ones = 12 follicles    TOTAL = 21 follicles

The doc says it’s still early days but there’s a good number. Blood was also taken to measure the hormone levels as each follicle emits estrogen and this is what is measured in the blood. The blood test is used to confirm what the doc sees in the US. I’ve just phoned the clinic and I’ve to continue on the same dosage, 0.5ml of Buserelin and 150iu of Gonal-f.

I’m back on Friday the 9th for another TVUS and blood test.

I was wondering what size the follicles need to be before ER and found this site (Fertility Today) which states “In a gonadotropin cycle, mature follicle size is between 16-20mm”. So it looks like we’re half way there!

I’m thinking that ER will be anytime from the 12th but again that’s just what I’m thinking, I haven’t been updated on when ER is due to take place… I’m getting impatient now!! :o)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

